Salesforce Training is now The Salesforce Trainers — same team, sharper focus

Videos Launchpad: Your Step-by-Step Salesforce Setup Guide

Launchpad Lesson 24 - User Management

Learn how to create and manage Salesforce users, assign profiles, configure settings, reset passwords, and control user access.

Launchpad: Your Step-by-Step Salesforce Setup Guide

Read the transcript

Now that we have Salesforce set up and ready to go, let's add our users so everyone else at the company has access.

User management ensures that we set up your users correctly so they can access Salesforce.

You want to ensure that your users have a unique username, the right profile, the correct time zone setting, and that they receive an email from Salesforce with instructions on how to log in.

You also need to know how to reset passwords in case users forget them or lock themselves out, as well as how to deactivate their licenses when they're no longer needed.

Once again, go to the Setup menu, type “Users” in Quick Find, and then select Users from the submenu.

In the middle window, you'll now see a list of current users, and you can click the New User button.

The majority of the fields in the left-hand column are pretty self-explanatory.

When you enter a first and last name, the alias will automatically populate based on the characters in those names. This is used as a shorthand to identify the owner of a record.

The username is generally the same as the user's email address, and it's what your users will use to log in.

The nickname, as the information icon explains, is used for displaying in online communities. You can ignore this for now.

Then complete the Title, Company, Department, and Division fields as you see fit.

Let's go to the right-hand column. The first field is for Role. Just leave this as is, as we're not covering roles in this course, and you can operate Salesforce just fine without them.

For User License, you should select Salesforce. If you don't see Salesforce as an option, it means that you currently don't have any extra licenses available. It's time to call your Salesforce account executive and get some more.

You'll also choose a profile for the user. Here, you can choose either the Sales User profile or the Sales Manager profile that we created in the earlier lesson on profiles.

You'll see that the Active checkbox is selected. If you ever need to remove a user's access, we always recommend unchecking this box rather than deleting the user. You never want to delete the user, as this could cause you to lose data associated with that employee's user record.

Unchecking the Active box will free up their license to be assigned to someone else and prevent them from logging in.

As for the other checkboxes, we'd suggest leaving everything as is. They provide the user with additional features that are beyond the scope of this course and, frankly, won't impact their experience as a Sales Cloud user.

You can fill out the remaining fields, such as Phone and Address, if you choose to. However, note that these fields aren't required, and the user can complete them in their own user settings.

The other key field is Time Zone. The default setting will be the same time zone you configured earlier in your company settings. However, if your user works from another time zone, make sure to change this.

This will impact the times displayed for their tasks and events in Activities, as well as a few other areas.

At the very bottom, you'll see a checkbox that says Generate New Password and Notify User Immediately. If this is checked, the user will receive an email with login instructions as soon as you click Save.

We'll leave this checked and click Save.

Now, if a user in your org ever needs to reset their password, you can do that from this screen by checking the box next to their name and clicking Reset Password.

You can also add multiple users at the same time by clicking Add Multiple Users.

One other tip is freezing users. You may encounter a situation where you want to temporarily prevent a user from accessing the system.

Freezing a user prevents them from logging in without deactivating them. If a user is frozen, their license is still being used.

That's it—the basics of adding users to your org. Of course, you can always come back here to make edits as needed.

The next lesson focuses on importing large quantities of data from an external source.

Watch on YouTube

More from the Academy

Keep watching.